- -

Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?


Participation Associates

As indicated SASGI is an electricity industry representative institute. This is an institute established by the industry through the guidance of SANEDI. The common objective of the members is to address the industry priorities and challenges in respect of Smart Grids and grid modernisation in South Africa. Municipalities are represented through a number of representative municipalities and the South African Local Government Association (SALGA). Due to the diversity of Eskom, representation from the Smart Grid related disciplines within Eskom are secured.

The SASGI members are:

Company/Entity Member Alternative
Association of Municipal Electricity Undertakings (AMEU) Hannes Roos Michael Rhode
City of Cape Town Marius vd Westhuizen Siya Gqwede
City of Johannesburg Thabo Mahlatsi Devesh Mothilall
City of Johannesburg Alex Bhiman
City Power Ronnie Mazibuko Xolani Lembede
City Power Tshidiso Ngoedi
City of Tshwane Robert Masawanganyi Junior M. Tlabela
CSIR John Isaac Ntsibane Ntlatlapa
Department of Energy Thabang Audat Wolsey Barnard
Department of Energy Rebecca Masermule Costas Angelides
Department of Science and Technology TBC TBC
Ekurhuleni Mark Wilson Hannes Roos
Eskom Philip Groenewald Barry Maccoll
Eskom Amal Khatri
Eskom Prathaban Moodley
Eskom Clinton Carter Brown
Eskom Ken Hales
Eskom Comfort Masike
Ethekweni Maxwell Mthembu Sandile Maphumulo
Ethekweni Jonathan Hunsley
IES Paul Johnson
NERSA Lucky Nhlanhla Ngidi Ronald Chauke
SABS Willa Breed John Mtombeni
SAIEE Mike Cary
SALGA Tubatsi Moloi Linda Manyuchi
SANEDI Minnesh Bipath Willie de Beer
Universities Dr Wilfred Fritz

The Workgroup members are nominees from the electricity industry. At the Workgroup level provision is also made for the ad-hoc participation of other industry experts such as suppliers, consultants, manufacturers. The inclusion of ad-hoc participants is at the discretion of the relevant Workgroup chairperson.

The three standing Workgroup members are:

Policy Workgroup
Minnesh Bipath (Chairperson)  
Clinton Carter Brown  
Prathaban Moodley  
Hannes Roos  
Ken Hales  
Junior M. Tlabela  
Isaac Rampedi  
Lucky Nhlanhla Ngidi  
Maxwell Mthembu  
Alex Bhiman  
Ntsibane Ntlatlapa  
Fred Fryer  
Marc Paravano  

Implementation/Applied Research

Hannes Roos (Chairperson)  
Ronnie Mazibuko  
John Isaac  
Jonathan Hunsley  
Lucky Nhlanhla Ngidi  
Prathaban Moodley  
James Masonganye  
Johan Rens  
Fhatu Mphaphuli  
Moswatse Lelope  

Technology & Standards

Prathaban Moodley (Chairperson)  
Devesh Mothilall  
Amal Khatri  
John Isaac  
Nomsa C. Mabasa  
Phuti S. Mabotja  
Bongani Nkambule
Johan Rens  
Howard Nkuna  
Paul Johnson